Greyhound Literary

Authors CC

The Authors were an Edwardian cricket team, which starred PG Wodehouse, Arthur Conan Doyle and AA Milne. Each year, they’d play sides of Actors and Publishers at Lord’s. The last of these matches was in 1912. There were a few subsequent incarnations of the team before they were revived in 2012 by literary agent Charlie Campbell and novelist Nicholas Hogg. In their comeback season, they played all over England, including matches at Lord’s and at Wormsley against the Lords and Commons CC. In January 2013, they toured India, playing a Rajasthan Royals XI and making the front page of The Times of India. They have played three national teams, Japan, Iceland and the Vatican, winning the first and losing to the Puffins and St Peter’s CC. The Authors XI: A Season of English Cricket from Hackney to Hambledon is published by Bloomsbury and was shortlisted for the MCC Cricket Society Book of the Year Award.